PSRP – Reflection & Action Plan 2

21/10/2015 – Peer Supported Review of Practice B

Picture1

Feelings

What were you thinking and feeling at the time?

I became aware early on during my interactions with this client that we could have had a very negative working relationship and therefore I felt sympathy whilst also feeling antagonised initially.

Evaluation

List points or tell the story about what was GOOD and what was BAD about the experience.

Good – I worked hard to overcome my initial misgivings about working with the client and sought to practice person-centred work that heavily relied on empathy.

Bad – I ended up overcompensating but giving the client unlimited time when this was not advisable, given service protocol.

Analysis

What sense can you make out of the situation.  What does it mean?

My personal feelings towards this client were so strong, initially, that I’m now aware that I made a concerted effort to check-in with myself about my ability to provide unconditional positive regard (Rogers, 2012). In essence, whilst busy checking my client work from one angle, I lost sight of the amount of time and encumbrance that was being occasioned by this single client. My plan, after a fashion, backfired. Rather than making sure that I could help with client and move on, the client felt sufficiently supported that they over-used the service and I failed to manage this boundary.

Conclusion

What else could you have done?  What should you perhaps not have done?

Managed the boundary more carefully, offered fewer unscheduled/spontaneous sessions

Picture2

Action plan

In a similar situation, what would you do differently?

  • actively managed the boundaries that were being challenged
  • considered client parity and equity of access.

How will you adapt your practice in the light of this new understanding?

  • consult with colleagues when a similar client situation arises again.
  • add overcompensation to my repertoire of responses for us to self-check-in about.

What specific actions are you now going to undertake as an outcome of this review?

  • I have re-read the protocols that I authored to refresh myself about the rationale for the way we work, and our relational ethos.

Do you need any support with these actions and if so how are you going to seek this out?

No

When do you expect to have completed these actions by?

within one month.

References

Rogers, C., 2012. Client Centred Therapy (New Ed). Hachette UK.

This entry was posted in A5 Engage in continuing professional development in subjects/disciplines and their pedagogy, incorporating research, scholarship and the evaluation of professional practices, K1 The subject material, K2 Appropriate methods for teaching, learning and assessing in the subject area and at the level of the academic programme and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

