Publishing in Academic Journals

09/05/17 – Video Training by Associate Professor Nick Hopwood

I watched this series of videos and created a list of follow-up activities I needed to carry out following the stimulus and information that the video offered.

It’s made me reflect. I’ve had 2 other careers. I’m coming to research late… I think I’d rather publish stuff I was passionate about in journals that I esteemed, rather than start becoming preoccupied with things like impact factors etc. I’m also aware that, personally, I’m much more fond of books and in certain areas – such as sociology – books can stand the test of time and mean I leave more of a legacy than a collection of papers that in 20 years time may be perceived as out of date and no longer of interest – where as books with a solid base, and broader themes may offer more of a legacy. They’re currently out-of-fashion in the world of REF but, frankly, things change all the time. In ten years time we might be telling scholars in my field that they should have been concentrating on books all this time!

It’s interesting what he says about reviewing, and the quid pro quo element of it – I’m mad keen to review but you seemingly need credentials as long as your arm before anyone will let you near – even when you have an experiential track record of knowledge and expertise in the field. Bizarre.

This entry was posted in RESEARCH DOMAIN B3 PROFESSIONAL & CAREER DEVELOPMENT, RESEARCH DOMAIN D2 COMMUNICATION & DISSEMINATION and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

